about me

Hi, I’m Zefi.

I was born in Greece but have spent most of my life in Australia. I’ve lived in small town Australia, Athens Greece, Melbourne, Canberra and now in Tasmania.

I went to the Victorian College of Arts in Melbourne, then worked as a graphic designer for many years till the call of the country was too strong to ignore. I moved to Tasmania in 2003 and have been living and loving it here since.

In the beginning of 2011 my partner Wayne and I bought a farm together in the beautiful Derwent Valley.  And after many years of working for others I am finally working from home as a dog groomer, and I love it.

We share our farm with three full size and one half size horses (ok, he’s a miniature), three dogs (though the poodles would argue they’re not dogs), chickens, geese, ducks and wildlife. The house was ugly when we bought it and I spent most of my time either thinking about how to improve it or working on improving it.

My passions in life are poodles which I bred and showed for many years, decorating, renovating, art, learning new things and recycling old things into something new. Oh, and rockabilly music.

I first started a blog as a diary for my trip to Greece in 2010 as a way to share my adventure with friends and family. I kept it up through buying the  farm with my partner, moving and, now, making it a home.I write about our experiences, our animals, my art and my DIY projects. I’m always doing something… I’m not happy unless I have a a project or five on the go at any one time. I love power tools and I’m not afraid to use them, with varying degrees of skill.I’ll have a go at just about anything. I paint, needle felt, craft, renovate, refurbish, decorate, design, and sew with imagination and enthusiasm though not necessarily with skill. I may not always do things the ‘right’ way, but I’m happy with the results and that’s all that matters.

I hope you enjoy my blog.

z

3 thoughts on “about me

  1. Wasn't sure how to get in touch w/ you. You said you could do a button. Wondering if you might could help me w/one. I am very computer illiterate. My topic will be 31 Days of Favorite Things.

    Like

  2. Hi Zefi,

    My husband, kids and I look to be doing something similar in the way of farm life here in Tas; we just moved to Hobart this July gone.

    I am looking forward to following your exploits and hopefully learning from your experiences re. farming, DIY and craft!

    To get here, I followed the link from the Tassie Shabby FB page 🙂

    Cheers, Rosie (Lazy May)

    Like

  3. Wow Zefi, you certainly lead a full life. I feel like you are a kindred spirit. I also moved away from New York and went to Greece to get away from the rat race. Unfortunately for me, the rat race followed. It's really nice to meet you. I'll be stopping by from time to time.

    Like

Comments are closed.